When I Came To Lagos I Sat Down And Wept

When I came to Lagos I sat down and wept

With his back leaning against the wall of his house, not looking at me, he said:  ” I too have been in Exode. I have. My son left us in the year 1999. He went to Nigeria. It was good at first. For two years  he sent us money every month.”

He paused and his thoughts traveled into the past.

” We took care of his wife and his four children. He did not come home. The money stopped and there was no sign of him. We waited another year. Then I went to look for him. There was nobody else who would go for me. My wife said, you must look for your son. And I rose “.

For six months I walked, people often took me with their car. But most of the time I walked. I am close to 60 years old. Allah, forgive me, I nearly lost faith. I came to Lagos.

When I came to Lagos,  I was so tired I sat down and wept.

I could not find my son.

Categories: Labor Migration, Nara, People, Travel, West Africa | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “When I Came To Lagos I Sat Down And Wept

  1. I find this topic interesting, and your treatment of it is sensitive. Regular newscasts usually do not capture the human side, the drama of the people.
    I saw your link on our group on linkedin, Writers World. My link to Earthy Reporter, a “homeless” journalist’s stories from Earth, is http://earthyreporter.blogspot.com

    The last stories are on Brazil.

  2. Hello Carola,
    Thank you for your comment. I appreciate that you took the time to read the post and write down your thoughts. My idea was to show the human side of labor migration and I am happy that I am achieving this goal a little bit with my posts.
    I went to visit your blog and became a follower. I left also a lmessage with a ink to my blog on the same platform about the second biggest township in South Africa. Feel free to pay a visit when you have a minute.

    Greetings from South Africa

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

